Hide menu

The research behind the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018 was divided, one half awarded to Frances H. Arnold "for the directed evolution of enzymes", the other half jointly to George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter "for the phage display of peptides and antibodies."

Here are a few of their publications which are freely available for all students and staff at LiU from via the library search service UniSearch:

Keqin Chen and Frances H. Arnold (1993) ‘Tuning the Activity of an Enzyme for Unusual Environments: Sequential Random Mutagenesis of Subtilisin E for Catalysis in Dimethylformamide’, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, (12), p. 5618.
Find at LiU

Arnold, F. och Macuare, K. A. (2016) The NAI Fellow Profile: An Interview with Dr. Frances Arnold. Technology and Innovation, 18, 79-82 https://doi.org/10.21300/18.1.2016.79
Freely available

Smith GP (1985) Filamentous fusion phage: novel expression vectors that display cloned antigens on the virion surface. Science 228:1315-131
Find at LiU

McCafferty J, Griffiths AD, Winter G, Chiswell DJ (1990) Phage antibodies: filamentous phage displaying antibody variable domains. Nature 348:552-555
Find at LiU

Harding, M. (2006) ‘Profile: Sir Greg Winter-humaniser of antibodies’, Lancet, 368(SUPPL. 1), p. S50. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(06)69927-3 
Find at LiU

Wed Oct 03 15:30:00 CEST 2018


More news from the library

The library joins liu.se

On 23 October, the library website will become a part of LiU’s website.

Additional hours during October

Valla Library and Campus Norrköping Library are open during two Sundays this semester: the 21st and the 28th of October.

Networking about e-journals

Representatives of 6 journals hosted by LiU E-Press exchanged experiences.

The research behind the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Find and get access to publications by Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith and Sir Gregory P. Winter.

Page manager: webmaster@bibl.liu.se
Last updated: Wed Oct 03 15:15:24 CEST 2018